RSS Feed

21 Questions — Movies from Books

Sabrina Banes, a writer and former journalist in Brooklyn, has a website, YA New York ( http://www.yanewyork.com ), dedicated to young adult literature. She has an unusual interview technique in which the interviewee also gets to ask questions of the interviewer. Here is another excerpt from the interview she had with me.

Question Seventeen

Sabrina: How do you feel about the reception that the Worldweavers trilogy has gotten?

Alma: I’ve had some marvelous comments from readers. I just got an e-mail from a teen reader asking if there were going to be any more. The reviews that I got were calling [the books] unique and at the same time comparing them to all that came before. However, they don’t seem to be as widely available as I’d like them to be. [Here, here. Next time you’re at your local bookstore, fans, be sure to mention that they should stock the Worldweavers trilogy!]

Question Eighteen

Alma: I’m going to throw a cat among the pigeons here. How do you feel about movies made out of books? To give you an example, I spent most of Lord of the Rings snarling at the screen.

Sabrina: I do that too, just generally. The book is almost always better than the movie, unless the book was really bad in the first place. In which case, why make the movie? The only exception to that rule for me is Breakfast at Tiffany’s, not because Truman Capote’s novella wasn’t fantastic, but because I grew up with the movie.

About AlmaAlexander

I am a novelist, short story writer and anthologist.

Leave a Reply

